Who am I ?

From the archives

I am a girl and that is my crime

I must be shuttered and cloistered

I must be seen and not heard

Am I less of a human than my brother?

I am neither allowed to dream nor aspire

I am a wife and mother; that is all I am allowed to be

I can’t be right even if everybody is wrong

Am I a lesser creature than my husband?

I am a gem but I am not valued

I have rights that exist only in statute books

I exist but only to satisfy a man

Did God create me a slave or a free born?

From a young age I have always known my body was an asset

From lascivious stares of men on my teenage body

To groping in the dark and rape in broad daylight

What is it with men and uncontrolled libido?

I know I was created as man was ,by God

To be a helpmate and not a subject

Yet I bear the guilt of an oversexed society

Can’t the wandering eyes of men decide not to see?

I only want to live as I was created

To aspire and dream like every child of God

To be seen as an image of God and not a lower being than “man”

Is that too much to ask from a supposed intelligent species?

©Fr

Leave a Reply

