Before I met you….

Before I met you,

Life was dull and gloom,

Activities were dry and boring,

I existed but didn’t live.

That was before I met you.

Before I met you,

I was like drift wood,

I was like a boat without paddles,

I was going where the wind wanted.

Until I met you.

Before I met you,

I had a vacum I knew not how to fill,

I blissfully held out hope for tomorrow,

I desperately worked hard to forget yesterday

Until I met you.

Since I met you,

Life hasn’t been all laughs and giggles.

We have had our fair share of tantrums and punches

But you gave my life a new meaning.

Ever since I met you.

Since I met you,

I realized, the past will always be there.

That all I need , is to make my today greater,

And then my past will fade into oblivion.

Thats why I met you.

I have no regrets, I have no shame.

We found each other, When the world lost us.

And in finding each other, We have to lose ourselves,

So that together we will be one better being.

After we meet each other.

8 thoughts on “Before I met you….”

  1. Thanks for liking ‘in the breeze.’ I read your post on The Naked Girl. Where do you derive from? I’m from Australia and just this week a woman won the Melbourne Cup (a horse race) for the first time ever. She did more for feminism in this country in 3 minutes than feminists have done in 3 decades. I hope women in your country one day enjoy the same sense of freedom and achievement. All the best!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Owen. I am from Nigeria but I was writing with a global view considering whats happening especially in the middle east and parts of Africa and India where women have been made into “nothing” and have been so abused and debased. Thanks for your comment the conversation is still on

      Like

  2. Francois, it’s a long road to obtain respect for women in Middle Eastern and African culture. Only via liberal democracy can true respect for women ever be achieved. Australia has never seen war on its shores and is one of only a few continuous democracies in the world. I, and the women in my country, are blessed. Even so, women’s suffrage (the right to vote) was obtained only a little over 100 years ago. Fight for what you truly believe in but be aware that liberal democracy is a long way off. Respect, inclusion, education for all, free trade, ‘real’ elections, power in the hands of the many not the few, must all come before true ‘liberalism’ can be achieved, meaning the right for all to do as they please so long as they don’t harm others in the process.
    Welcome to mature democracy – continue the fight! But a word of advice – act local, think global – that way you (and others like you) may achieve. Stay in touch

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot, for now my “fight” is local trying to get women to even believe in the fact that they are talented and destined for greatness irrespective of what society tells them. For me its first a battle of the mind before its a battle of the society. So we are starting small and hope to go global soon enough. Liberal Democracy ,sure has a role to play but I think all have to work simultaneously. that is the walk towards real liberal democracy and changing the minds of the next generation of women that they are much more than they have been taught they are. Thanks a lot for the encouragement will try and keep in touch

      Like

  3. In part your fight is a belief in individualism over and above ‘groupthink’, the role of the individual over and above societal pressure. If women in societies where they are oppressed believe they can control their own path rather than have it ‘pre-ordained’ by external sources/pressures, you and others like you will be successful in changing the minds of the next generation. Best wishes…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

