Please where is my mind?

Since I could think for myself I have always heard statements referring to the mind. Times without number I have been told , “free your mind” or “focus your mind on the task at hand”. But nobody has ever bothered to tell me where my mind is.

In my studies of anatomy, mention was not made of the mind rather the hypothalamus which makes up less than 1% of the brain was said to control emotions among other body functions. But then I wonder why it is my chest (heart) I clutch when I get a sudden outburst of emotion and not my head. So with anatomy, I have become a bit skeptical.

Then I turn to medicine for answers and there is none. Better than anatomy, medicine mentions and recognizes the effect of the mind on the body but never gives a location for it. It explains that psychosomatic disorders are diseases of the mind manifesting with bodily symptoms.

In the course of writing this I just remembered a friends admonition many years ago, he said, “don’t lose your mind over a woman”. I wonder how I will accomplish that if I don’t know where my mind is in the first place.

Science has graphically labeled every tissue and organ in my body. Science tells me that aggregation of cells make up tissues, aggregation of tissues make up organs and organs make up systems. But it neglects to mention what makes up my mind. At the last check, neurologists have mapped every part of the brain, yet no location however remote of where the mind is or could be.

So to religion I turn as I look for answers beyond my grasp. It says that man is made up of spirit soul and body coexisting in the vessel called man. It goes on further to say that the mind is the voice of the intellect which is of the soul and that the conscience is the voice of the spirit. Interesting concept, no doubt but at least it is an explanation and now I know my mind can’t be where I have been looking for it.

image-01-small

As science and its offspring of medicine and anatomy have not been able to help me fully in locating my mind, I turn to my priest for more answers. Maybe his answers will mirror the ones I have gotten before, maybe they will go deeper. My purpose now is to locate my mind and keep it safe.

5 thoughts on “Please where is my mind?”

  1. In the last few years as I’ve struggled thinking I am losing my mind, it has hurt my whole body at times. I’ve broken down sobbing, been lost in drunkeness, run a thousand miles, prayed, laughed, read, written, talked, and talked and talked to therapists, tried to remember, and I’m not sure where it’s all originating from or why it all started. The mind is fragile I do know this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No doubt about its fragility but its also the strongest part of our being. When we are beaten by situations and circumstances and it seems its all over its the mind once it stands firm it ressurects the whole being.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

